Skip to content

The Malaysian Pride

August 31, 2009

Today is the National Day of Malaysia.

Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka??????

Have been reading about a lot of negativity happening in my homeland… Mostly from blogs… I don’t read news… My bad for my ignorance… But bloggers seem to put such events better in words, without so much of cover-up…

Personally, what do I think?
Will I join the bandwagon and criticise about the obvious flaws?
Or will I be a ‘good citizen’, and be a walking ambassador of my country? (that’s what we were told to do before we left for our twinning program overseas)

Hmmm…

Let me just put it this way.

I adore my country, I’m proud to be a Malaysian. Never do I waiver and blame God or my parents for not giving birth to me in some other countries. BUT, it doesn’t mean that I endorse and condone on how our land is governed or how things are run.

Even so, I believe everything happened for a purpose. Who knows a great revelation will come out from whatever crisis we have now.

But this is not the point i’m trying to convey. Coz Felicia the Lulu is far from being a political commentator.

I just wanna express how proud I am to be a Malaysian.

I’m not gonna lie. When I first arrive in New Zealand, I felt inferior.
There seem to be some sort of hierarchy standards: whites > asians> SOUTH-EAST ASIANS.
I don’t really know why. Maybe because we’re darker and we’re from the third world countries???

I often felt like I belong no where.
I’m so rojak.
I’m a non-native malay speaker, non-native english speaker, non-native chinese speaker.
My identity of a Malaysian-Chinese is a puzzle to many of my friends from China. They just couldn’t understand how I kept denying myself as a Chinese. We even had people scowling at us for not supporting the chinese protest @_@

WELL, all those thoughts were cast away long ago. It has something to do with me aging… wth.. lol

So what if I’m a non-native?
We malaysians can code-switch faster than our international peers.
We can be speaking in malay at first but when some malay peers happen to walk past, we easily switch to mandarin, and back to malay when chinese peers walk past, and to cantonese when taiwanese walk past, and to english when our lecturer walk past and rebuke us for not speaking in english, and to manglish when speaking to malaysian peers, and to hokkien just for the fun of it…

Don’t get me started on food. Even though many places are multi-cultural now, but their diversity in food often comes with diversity in pricing. And there’s is always a distinction in what food represents what countries.
For example, Japan – Sushi, Italian – Pizza and Pasta and etc.
But in Malaysia, there’s no standard food representative, coz we basically regard food of 3 very different cultures (Malay, Chinese, Indian) as malaysian food. And mannnnnn…. our food is GOOD…….

Our country is also free from natural disasters (the tsunami is an exception), but generally we need not fear for earthquakes and volcanic eruptions =)

We may not have as much freedom of speech and for our actions, but we do enjoy ample opportunities and rights compared to many other countries. At least we do not have to send our kids to beg on streets, or watch them die of starvation and of sickness because it is hard enough to scrap through each day alive or be deprived of education and work opportunities because of our gender…

Therefore,

No matter what happens…

I’m still a Malaysian. Proud to be one. And always will be.

Selamat Hari Kebangsaan Malaysia!!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 7:48 am

    Oh, I’m so proud of you, darling!! *hugs*

    Salam merdeka!!

  2. Anonymous permalink
    August 31, 2009 7:49 am

    cant agree more. people find it so hard to understand us Malaysian Chinese, some just cannot accept the fact that we can have so much identity (code switching thing). it takes me a lot of effort to explain to people about Malaysia. espacially about Islam, terrorists, and the fact that were are a mixture of people, not just muslim terrorists!

    personally, this independence day does somehow knock me at the head about no matter how hard you try to be a Kiwi, youre still a Malaysian. I love this country, but sometimes, i dont really feel being loved back. its so hard.

    • August 31, 2009 8:24 am

      hey, im thinking and guessing that ur nigel?

      anyways, totally feeling you… esp the part of not being loved back… since there’s nothing we can really do about it, we can think positively and pray for the best lo~

  3. Anonymous permalink
    August 31, 2009 2:16 pm

    Very insightful comments and I reckon it is only fair to voice out the concerns about the recent ‘turmoils’. And what a time for it all to happen eh?

    A little set of vids to cheer things up: http://www.1malaysia-proton.com

    Asrif
    http://asrif.org

  4. Anonymous permalink
    September 1, 2009 1:32 am

    We have much further to go as a country so ppl like you, who have gone overseas, have double the responsibility of bringing the future home.

    Enjoy your last year in Orc Land!

    p/s: Pls bring my baby back safely too!

your two cents?

