Skip to content

It’s a bird, it’s a plane… Noo… It’s SuperMom!

May 9, 2010

天下的妈妈都是一样的, oh…

天下的妈妈都是一样的…

.

As much as I love this song, which I grew up with, I am sure my mom is not the same as all moms in the world.

She is way more special and awesome!

I’m entitled to my own biasness coz she is my mom, my SuperMom!

.

Born in a family of 7, my mom had lived a rather tough childhood, but nonetheless inspiring

.

Due to certain circumstances, SuperMom was forced into maturity and adult responsiblities at a young age. Following her sisters, she had to work in farms for a living, while perform in her studies. My oh my was SuperMom good in what she does. Even though life was hard, she did not dwell in self-pity; but continued to strive in her studies, and became a top student in her school.

.

SuperMom was beautiful, and is still beautiful! Rumours were that she was quite a catch, and SuperPapa had to pull quite some tricks to win her over 😉

.

.

Later on in her life, she went into teacher training, and became a teacher who impacted peopl’e lives, someone whom I can proudly declared as my SuperMom!

.

But before that, she got married to SuperPapa, and became a match made in heaven…

.

.

Not long after that, I was born!!! As a really young mother and a relatively new teacher, SuperMom had to juggle her responsibilities as an educator, a wife, as well as a mother. I knew it wasn’t an easy task, but I’m glad she managed everything so well, and I was brought up in a delighful and warm environment.

Mind you, I was very popular since young, as I tagged along everywhere, be it SuperPapa or SuperMama’s school events. Thanks to them, I had a large family and was well-loved by everyone 😉

.

.

.

Although SuperMom was really busy with all sorts of work, she would always spend time teaching me the basics of language and knowledge, creating games and worksheets for me, and recording shows like Sesame Street so that I can watch and rewatch for learning (it also worked well in keeping me entertained while she did her chores…lol)

.

Not long after, i did not have to watch the recordings of Sesame Street by myself anymore, there was a new addition to the family – Joel was born! Safe to say, I was no longer the sole focus of the family, but SuperMom made sure we were all well-loved =)

.

.

As time passed by, SuperPapa went to further his studies while SuperMom was left to care for the family on her own. I grew to know that SuperMom greatest regret was that she never had the chance to pursue her studies even though she knew she would surely perform. With all of us happening to her, she lost her opportunity. Even so, that did not stop her from becoming good and giving her best in whatever she was doing. She continue to teach, and inspire those under her care.

.

.

She was well-loved by her students and well-appreciated by the school.

She may be strict and usually had to play the ‘bad cop’ in the family while SuperPapa got it easy, we came to know her desires and love for us, and we started to understand.

.

Sooner than we thought, Joel and I started to grow up fast, and I started to worry about my parents being left alone when we leave home for studies. Then, Joshua came into the family, and brought joy to us.

.

.

We were happy, everything turned out well, and we continued to receive great blessings from God…

.

That was my first time leaving home for my JPA scholarship – Engineering in Japan, which I turned down later

.

.

Then, SuperMom was diagnosed with Breast Cancer, days before my departure to New Zealand…

.

She was scared,

I was scared,

We were all scared…

and all we could do was leave everything unto the hands of God…

.

You know, sometimes you just do not understand how God works, or you find Him to have a humour of His own…

But it is true that everything happened for a reason, for His purpose…

.

Weeks before the whole deal happened, us who were supposed to depart for Auckland received notification that our flight was further postponed, leading us to be the last group to leave for overseas. While everyone else practically gloated on facebook over their arrival in the land Down Under or them landing on British grounds, the Aucklanders were left grumbling and complaining.

BUT, because of this delay, I was able to be by my SuperMom’s side throughout the whole ordeal.

I was there for her operation,

I was there during her recovery,

and we spent our first Valentine’s together, in the hospital ward, talking about life like never before.

.

Thank God, all glory to God,

The operation was successful, and SuperMom’s was cleared from the cancerous cells.

Yet, she still had to undergo painful therapy.

But it was a great relief to all of us… to see SuperMom rejoicing and becoming a living testimony to people around her =)

.

.

Today,

She is a Guru Cemerlang,

a proud degree graduate,

a Breast Cancer Survivor,

a wonderful mother,

a loving wife.

.

As I followed SuperMom and SuperPapa’s footsteps in becoming a teacher myself…

I want to be life-changers like them…

I want to prove that teaching IS indeed a noble job, a meaningful and fruitful profession, and should not be the last option in career choices…

.

.

.

.

Lastly,

to my SuperMom…

Sorry for not being there to celebrate this special day with you.

But life taught me that times and dates do not matter, as we should appreciate our loved ones whenever we can, and make their days special throughout the days and years to come…

Thanks for everything, for your sacrifice, your prayers, your love and care for me…

I love you SuperMom!

I really do…

.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 9, 2010 9:06 pm

    awww, this is really sweet and touching! your mum is wonderful. i pray that you guys will continue to love and support one another tru rainbows and storms =) .

your two cents?

