Skip to content

I got kicked real bad… for good

February 26, 2011

Thursday is my busiest day at school, since I have to teach all my 4 classes on that day. As usual, the night before I will prepare my teaching materials, and hope that all would be well the next day.

However,

Despite my preparations, my sudden changes of lesson plan, lots of spontaneity, and even using songs and crossword games…

I came back feeling defeated.

I was at my wits end with the students (except for my 5S1).

5A5 has only 5 girls in the class, out of 28. (to be fair, only 7 came to school, and 2 boys were called away by a teacher for disciplinary problems)

and they do not know simple words like ‘We’. T___T

Some of my 5A1 kids can’t read. They can’t even follow the simple chorus of ‘We are the world’.

My 4A1 kids have gotten their SVA all wrong.. Thinking ‘I’ is paired with ‘is’; while ‘he/she’ is paired with ‘are’; and they can’t even make a simple sentence yet.

I think I did tried everything. Scrambling out everything I could think of at the spot, to make them ‘follow’ the lesson.

I was demotivated.. Pissed with myself… Feeling dumber by the day…

Then came yesterday, and I read Mard’s POST.. *please do read*

That was one big smack, right on the face for me.

I was embarrassed of myself.

Really got me thinking a lot…

And I got down with my pen and my notebook…

Scribbling on new strategies I could use with my students.

This coming 2 weeks will be exam week so I probably can’t do much teaching. But at least I could do my part in motivating them.

Come this much-needed March break,

I will go back,

Equip myself with the books and materials I need,

Come back stronger, wiser, and hopefully my new strategies with my students could be more fruitful.

I’m still doubtful of my abilities and whether I could stop them from giving up on English.

But one thing I know,

I am not ready to give up yet.. on them.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. dzeti permalink
    February 26, 2011 2:03 pm

    wow~ yes please do. equip urself. then i can borrow. haha

    fyi, so far im just having fun with them. making them feel english is fun. hopefully, slowly, they will feel motivated to learn. On their own.

    • February 26, 2011 10:05 pm

      *coughs* borrow? *coughs* lol…
      no prob babe 😉 we kan good partners in crime

  2. February 27, 2011 12:42 am

    You do have to lower your standards & give them achievable goals.
    Once they’ve got a hang of it, they will naturally want to move on to harder things.

    Keep it up! =)

    • February 28, 2011 8:49 pm

      thanks for the heads up!
      cue song: Limbo Rock – How low can you go?

  3. Pikah permalink
    February 27, 2011 6:21 am

    very inspiring. im at my wits end too with my last form 4 class. they wont even sit quietly while im teaching. always wanna walk around the school! even when im doing games! so gonna find a more interesting way to learn english than playing games. (well that’s going to be easy).

    anyways goodluck on yr teaching career babe! im sure u will nail it n be the kid’s favourite in no time. 😉

    • February 28, 2011 8:51 pm

      All the best to ALL OF US!!! lol.. seems like that has been our tagline~
      We can do this! and thanks babe for the encouragement 😉

your two cents?

