Skip to content

This is a super vain post. So you’ve been warned.

March 1, 2011

Really contemplated for quite a while on whether to write this entry.

Well, because..naturally different people would take this in differently.. with probably most thinking that I am super narcissist, syok-sendiri, and a snob… which probably would be the case… Lol…

But seriously the main reason I’m gonna write this entry – more precisely on the opposite gender attention I received in this new school of mine , is simply because, i find them funny. Maybe not initially.

First up, I don’t think I’m drop dead pretty. But I will be lying if I say I don’t have moments when I stared into the mirror, thinking to self, “You are one good-looking lassie”. Maybe not particularly in that language.

The point is, I have many flaws – pimples, yucky blackheads, a humongous nose, unwanted fats… but I am confident in myself.

I have been sort of used to wolf-whistling and what-not from strangers, and personally I dislike such attention. I think of that as sexual harassment.

So, being the only single chinese lady in this 95% Malay-population school in, a Malay state – Kelantan, I had so many of those calls that I was kinda disturbed and depressed over it during my first two weeks. I hate being thought of as a sex object. And I confided often in both my parents and my partner.

But now, I’m so over it. And I just embraced it – by being a bigger person, by being myself again.

.

Some of the instances are as such:

*all conversations were conducted in Malay or even the Kelate dialect, but will be translated to English)

.

(during one of the staff meetings)

PK Ko: Ok, I would like to announce that we have 2 new teachers among our midst, and Miss Felicia would be in the Computer Club.

*Teachers start to snicker, and elbow the Computer Club’s male teachers*

PK Ko: (Looks at the group of male teachers) So any teachers would like to  be part of the Computer Club?

*Some male teachers jokingly said they wanted in*

My reaction? I just smiled politely while cursing inside.

.

Mr A saw me and called me

Mr A: Felicia, have you registered to vote?

Me: Actually I have.

*the lady teachers all started to laugh, and one by one asked Mr A what is her name.*

Mr A: Eh, I’m only interested in young lady’s name.

My reaction? Speechless. But smiled politely nevertheless @_@

.

Sports Day was the next day and all teachers were asked to go to Bilik Ko to get their sponsored Tee. And so I went…

Mr B: Hey Felicia, good afternoon.

Me: Good afternoon.

Mr B: So what size are you?

*the whole Bilik Ko roared in laughter*

My reaction? @_@

.

(During one of my teaching periods, I was writing something on the board. When I turned around, I saw a few new faces, sharing seats with my boys)

Me: Are you from this class?

Student A: No teacher. We went to the toilet. Saw you. So pretty. So we sat in.

*whole class laughed*

My reaction?

In a stern manner, ‘Get back to your class!’

.

(In my own class)

Student B: Teacher, how old are you?

Me: I don’t know. Why?

Student B: *chuckles* Teacher, where do you stay?

Me: I don’t know. Why?

Student B: *chuckles* Teacher, can I send you home?

Me: Thanks but no. Do your work.

.

Well, nothing beats this.

I went to KH room to see this teacher to get some data from her. She was in the room alright, sitting down doing her own things while the students were doing their own things and chatting away.

I knocked… many times… doesn’t seem like she noticed…

There was this boy who just kept going..

WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW!… non-stop while I was knocking…

until the teacher could not stand him ‘wowing’, she looked up, and only then saw me @_@

So yea, I walked in…briefed her on the data work.

And before I left.. The same boy blurted out, “Teacher, you are WOW! I dreamt of you!”

and the whole class laughed. even the teacher.

My reaction?

‘Yea right lil boy’

.

.

I’m pretty sure the whole hype would fade away… it’s just a matter of time.

So for now, I shall just bear with the cheap and cheesy lines, the wolf-whistling, the lingering stares (there’s this 16 year old who either has eye problems, or he just likes to stare at me..hmmm), the many Facebook requests which I have been ignoring..

and hold my head up high, just do my thing – be an educator.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 8:10 pm

    Hey hey pretty miss! 😀
    This is such an enjoyable read~

    • March 1, 2011 8:54 pm

      LOL… I’m sure you had many of your own moments too… maybe u should share too 😉

      • March 1, 2011 9:03 pm

        Ehehe, will share later, perhaps. Too lazy to write lor -_-” For now I shall stalk pretty misses like you >:D

  2. March 2, 2011 6:56 am

    haha! very kelantan style – mengurat+mengusik+mengacau.

    • March 5, 2011 7:00 pm

      is it really just kelantan style? lol.. u sure it doesn’t just happen everywhere?

  3. March 3, 2011 10:56 pm

    Get used to it!
    Meanwhile I’ll just go hahaha~~

    • March 5, 2011 7:03 pm

      haih… doesn’t seem like i have a choice right 😛

      i guess d difference for us is, u as a male teacher, can freely enjoy the sweet adoration from ur lil gals… but for us the females, the attention would probably end up with sexual intentions… boo~

your two cents?

