Skip to content

“Long Distance Relationship”

March 12, 2011
tags:

Used to be such a ridiculous concept to me.

So impractical.

Impossible!

As if it is doomed to fail.

Along my journey of life, I’ve stumbled upon the cheater, the coward, the commitment phobic, the immature, the one who disappeared mysteriously…

There were times I felt that I was not meant for this game of love.

Back then, of course, I did not realised that I was still young, and had a few great miles of journey ahead of me…

Then, came a day. God decided to lead me to this guy.

A little cold at first, but eventually became the warmest guy I have ever known.

Wise beyond his years- proofs of the hardship and challenges he had overcome in his years.

Sensitive, sensible, and is able to read all my subtle hints and signs. Then goes all the way, to provide me beyond what I would have expected.

Spoils me he does. But rebuking me, he does too.

Not a chance for me to be a brat. He nags. And he does it well.

He has great skills in making me come to my senses – One of the reasons why he receives my dad’s favour. @_@

.

Because he believed in US, I decided to believe as well.

We then embarked on this ‘cursed’ journey.. The dreaded term – L.D.R

I ate my words. And started to believe in the possibilities.

Testimonies from successful couples cheered me on.

Fallen examples gave me a jerk of fear.

But ultimately,

The trust, the huge effort from both of us, the prayers

Were what kept us going.

Holding onto the shared vision – of a future together.

.

.

Now, i have learned… to appreciate the beauty of LDR.

.

Because of the distance,

we relied not on touch, but on communication.

.

Because of the distance,

I have someone worth fighting for, someone to miss, someone to look forward to.

.

Because of the distance,

There is no room for petty arguments, or ill-throwing fits. Because we both know, it is not worth the risk.

.

Because of the distance,

There is always new topics of discussion. Be it my day, be it his day.

.

Because of the distance,

We became vulnerable, and more vocal about how much we long for each other.

.

Because of the distance,

We do not take things for granted. Every moment counts. Every single moment.

..

..

“True love doesn’t mean being inseparable; it means being separated and nothing changes.”


13 Comments leave one →
  1. blu8ple permalink
    March 12, 2011 6:38 pm

    aww.. sweetness.. U have all my blessings and prayers.. though LDR did not work for me, I’m really happy that both of u can commit urself to a promise and hope together.. 🙂 fighting!!!

    • March 12, 2011 10:08 pm

      sorry dear, din know that urs din work out. But i know you are a strong girl, and through His grace, you will meet the right one for you, who will truly treasure you in the way you deserve 🙂
      thanks for your blessings dear *biggie hugs*

  2. Kisahdreamer permalink
    March 12, 2011 6:47 pm

    awwww. =)

    touched.

  3. miszbee permalink
    March 12, 2011 6:57 pm

    “Because of the distance,
    We became vulnerable, and more vocal about how much we long for each other.”

    so true…i’ve learnt the same thing..and yes, it made us much closer..=)

    • March 12, 2011 10:09 pm

      it makes us more shameless right? lol… but sometimes, some dosage of cheesiness can go a long way… 😉

      • miszbee permalink
        March 13, 2011 12:50 am

        cheesiness can do wonders sometimes…and yes, am loving it more and more nowadays *tho i used to go ewww over it in the past*….=P

  4. March 12, 2011 7:29 pm

    “Holding onto the shared vision – of a future together.”

    You made me cry T^T
    All the best, darl!

    • March 12, 2011 10:10 pm

      All the best to all of us – members of the LDR CLub 😉

  5. Pikah permalink
    March 12, 2011 11:18 pm

    awwwww…..got teary eyed reading this. u gave me hope too, hun. thanks thanks thanks!!!

    • March 13, 2011 8:10 am

      wishing u sincerely too that yours would blossom beautifully 😉

  6. nirzehrun permalink
    March 12, 2011 11:53 pm

    it’s good to know that there are others going through the same thing…LDR has its ups and downs but I guess if you want to make it work, you really gotta work hard for it. *hugs*

    • March 13, 2011 8:13 am

      *high five sista* 😉
      It is definitely not an easy journey as we have to work twice or thrice harder than the ‘normal’ couples… but what is worth having is worth the fight right ? 😉

your two cents?

