Skip to content

Mr Right

December 15, 2011
tags:

Who would have known, going to that birthday party 3.5 years ago, would led me into meeting this guy who volunteered to stay back and helped us clean up the aftermath?

.

Who would have known, he would buy the UMSA Ball ticket when Cindy jokingly tried to sell to him?

.

Who would have known, he asked me out and eventually became my date for the ball?

.

Who would have known, 3.5 years down the road, we become best friends, lovers, and each other’s biggest supporter?

.

.

You know how girls grow up with this whole list of ideal requirements of their perfect partner, mostly inspired by the raging fever of idol dramas and love songs? I had mine, that started off as a super looooong list (due to over-confidence in self), that eventually became simpler and shorter as time changes, the real world appeared to be more cruel, and as I became more desperate to just find ‘the one’.

It took me quite a ride of painful lessons, failed relationships, many attempts of compromise to reach the point of ‘not searching, and let God lead me to the one.’ And when one stops being desperate, searching in all the wrong places, he just comes to you.

.

He wasn’t exactly the Mr Right at our first stage of relationship. Well at least to me, the signs were not clear and our whole relationship seemed flawed in many ways. But when you allow God to take control, changes happened, doors are opened, and the signs became clear.

.

Later I realised, the LIST does not matter anymore. You learn to love him for what he is. His quirks, his talents, his nature.

Though we were exact opposites in so many departments –

I love the festivity, he hates the crowd;

I am extremely clumsy and lad back, he is very particular, careful and organised;

I love spontaneity, he has to plan;

I couldn’t care less about health or what’s happening in the world; he reads up on them everyday and practises healthy-living…

… BUT, We came to learn to complement each other, and achieve a balance.

For instance,

He still takes me to visit busy places, but we choose a time when the crowd is the least.

I learned to be more careful and also alert in certain areas, he learned to be less strict on me and acknowledge my effort.

I learned to prioritise more each day, he started to be less rigid and sometimes go with the flow.

I started exercising at least once a week and take supplements, he still nags me if I don’t. LOL.

.

.

So, the moral of the story is… Stop looking for the ‘perfect guy’.

Just trust that God will lead you to the one, who is just perfect for you.

.

Is he my Mr Right?

I guess I just gotta continue appreciating him and find out for myself.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. fatindean permalink
    December 15, 2011 6:47 am

    I couldn’t agree with you more! 🙂

  2. dzeti permalink
    December 15, 2011 2:13 pm

    Lucky lucky girl..

  3. suzehanna permalink
    December 16, 2011 10:49 pm

    Love love love. =)

  4. December 19, 2011 10:15 pm

    However this turns out, girl…
    You guys seem to be good together. =)

your two cents?

