Skip to content

The Proposal

December 23, 2011
tags:

If you have been careful enough, you would have realised that my man, has been upgraded from The BF, to The Fiance. *gleessss*

So this entry is pretty straight forward, and very close to my heart – about how he popped the question, and I saying ‘yes’.

.

.

Many many weeks ago (when I was still toiling and preparing my students for SPM), I was skyping with Alex during our usual routine. He then told me that he wants to call up my dad to thank him for letting me go to New Zealand for the holidays. I said ‘go ahead’, and continued browsing or so while waiting for him.

Minutes passed, and suddenly I received a phone call from my dad. I picked up the phone, and at the other end was a very excited-sounding man..

Dad: Girl, do you know that Awesome wants to marry you? He just told me and ask me for permission!!! *sidenote: my dad calls my BF ‘Awesome’*

Me: What???!!! Really???!!! He asked you that????!!! Really?????? I have to ask him now!!!!

I went back to skype and called Alex.

Me: What did you tell my dad???? You told him you want to marry me?????

..

..

..

Silence.

..

Alex: Gosh. Why is this happening? He is not supposed to tell you anything!!!! This is not happening!!! *frustrated and heart broken* Now the surprise is gone. The plan is ruin. Arghhhhhhh!!!!

.

.

What happened next was, I kept laughing, Alex remained horrified, I tried to consoled him, and then I called my dad to scold him for ‘spilling the beans’.

.

Me: Daddy, Alex told me that you are supposed to not tell me.

Dad: Is it? I don’t know oh. You know la the connection was bad. There was a lot of noise, not clear and guessing game…etc etc excuses

Me: Now Alex is traumatised and said he will only attempt the proposal again after this whole thing die down!

Dad: Hehehehe.. Sorry lo.

.

So yeahhh… I have a Troll Dad

LMAO.

.

.

Anyway, it was a little confusing for me as I was preparing myself to see Alex in NZ. We have had a lot of wedding talks and discussions but at the same time, we were surrounded by a lot of complications with my government bond, the distance, the time difference and everything so I sometimes wonder whether he will continue to be ‘up for it’ ( if you know what I mean). I knew I would say YES in a heartbeat if he does propose, but I do blame my dad for the trolling, because I would be guessing whether he will be proposing to me during my short stay in NZ.

.

Days passed. Nope. Nothing unusual happened. We had a lot of good time together, mature talks, future discussions, but still nothing.

So I decided to just go with the flow, and try not to overthink.

Auckland’s summer has been quite wet and gloomy, and much colder than we expected. So Alex checks the weather forecast diligently as he plans our outings. Finally, there was like ‘sunny’ days for 2 days so he told me we would be making a road trip up north.

But as early as 5.30 am, he dragged me out of the house to go to One Tree Hill to see the sunrise.

I don’t like waking up THAT early, but then again we had only seen the sunset together so I thought I should just follow his plans.

I thought we would be DRIVING up the hill..but nooooooooo…the gates are closed as it was so early, so Alex made me wear his mum’s trainers and off we go, WALKING, PANTING, CRAWLING up the hill….

I was actually very worried that we won’t make it to see the sunrise, because at 5 plus in the morning, it was already quite bright. And Alex kept hurrying me to go faster while he was taking pictures from the back. @_@

.

Because we were so early, the whole of Cornwall Park and One Tree Hill was empty. It was almost as if we had the whole place to ourselves. And the view was breathtaking..

.

seriously, it was just AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL…

.

.

I started panicking a little when I saw the sun slowly rising… the purples were fading and the golden rays were seeping in… We had to try hard not to immerse ourselves too much with the tranquility and beauty of that morning and fasten our pace…

.

.

.

.

and we made it.

.

that moment, was just incredible. I have never seen such magnificence.

I hugged Alex tight and said, ‘thank you for bringing me here!’

Next thing I know,

He kissed me and said, ‘though it is hard and difficult, I want to be with no one but you.’

I jokingly replied, ‘just like how this hike up was tough and tiring, but we get to see such a beauty at the end right?’

He smiled, and got down on his knees.

From his pocket, he took out a watch.

‘Felicia, will you marry me?’

I remembered me screaming excitedly, ‘you got me a watch!’

He had to ask again, ‘Did you hear my actual question?’

I then said ‘YES! Yes! yes yes yes yes!!!’

We hugged and kissed and I was still in disbelief.

He kept laughing how I looked like my soul had left and my mind wandered away.

I had to agree though, that was the case. I looked at him, and asked, ‘so does this mean we are engaged?’

He said, ‘Yes, we are a step closer to our future together.’

=)

There was no bands playing, no grand halls, no musical acts jumping around singing and dancing, no flamethrowers, no 1000 roses, no audience.

It was intimate, personal, and meaningful.

.

I only told this news to my closer friends, my private twitter list, and my family.

One of the questions that commonly came out was, ‘where’s the ring?’

Truth is, we never see the point of having 2 rings, for engagement and wedding. Besides, our situation is a little more complicated and we do not really like curious people who bombard us with questions like ‘How are you gonna make it?’, ‘Will you be settling in NZ?’etc. A ring especially, attracts such attention.

So I was actually pleasantly surprised that he got me a watch instead. Not just any watch, but with a whole meaning to it that shall remain my personal keepsake.

This is already the 3rd watch he got me.

The first was on my first birthday with him. We thought we were in a relationship with an expiry date at that time as I was leaving New Zealand in a few months.

He got me the watch bracelet with charms, and told me to remember him and the memories we had. We related different incidents that we experienced together to each of the charms. It was a gift, that meant a lot to me.

.

Now that we decided to lift off the ‘expiry date’, here comes the ‘watch of promises and commitment’.

.

.

that wasn’t all. We had a whole day of ‘proposal acceptance celebration’!!! *super happy*

We had a nice time strolling down One Tree Hill as people started flooding in with their jogging attires,

Hand in hand, we were just smiling gleefully,

.

.

.

.

Then we went back, freshened up, and…

We went to Mission Bay for breakfast!

.

Once again, we were so early that the place was empty again. Proudly, Alex claimed once again that he ‘hired’ the whole place just for us. LOL.

.

.

.

.

And we were on our way to Warksworth!

.

.

.

.

.

And we went all that way, for this…

We LOVE bridges. We claimed some of them as ‘our bridge’.

there is just something about being together, looking into the calm sea, soaking in the sunshine, and letting the breeze caress you gently.

.

.

.

We finally ended the ‘engagement celebration’ with me doing the cooking for dinner, and him making us flans 🙂

.

super yummeh, with sweet molasses oozing from the bottom~

.

.

.

I am excited.

I am blessed.

I now have even more motivation to do well in my service here in Malaysia, and as God leads us, I look forward to what He has planned for the both of us 🙂

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Shirley permalink
    December 23, 2011 2:25 pm

    I am so happy for you, Felicia! Congrats! Continue to trust the LORD, surrender it to Him, and let Him always be the head and centre of your relationship. May the LORD use the two of you to be a blessing to many others! Look forward to the wedding bells! =D

    • December 23, 2011 4:47 pm

      thanks Shirley 🙂 its so true when all seems impossible, we have a God who could make all things possible if its according to His will~

  2. pikah permalink
    December 23, 2011 2:36 pm

    Touched. Congratulations to you both!!! AM so happy for u dear!

    p/s: my dad calls my fiancee by a nickname too: Superman. LOL I can hardly keep a straight face everytime daddy talks abt him. ;p

    • December 23, 2011 4:48 pm

      hahahaha… whats with our dads and funny nicknames? thanks pikah!

  3. Lina Chan permalink
    December 23, 2011 4:07 pm

    !!!! I started to open my mouth with an “O” then it became a curve with a smile as i keep scrolling down the page. I am soo happi for you Felicia and also for Alex. I can’t believe such a love and happi and love and happi and love story happened in reality and happened to my friend!!! Super duper congratulations and i wish you guys all the best!!! 😀 😀 😀 this blog made the remaining of my today 😀

    • December 23, 2011 4:49 pm

      i feel like jumping around with you. LOL… love ya babe

  4. December 23, 2011 4:13 pm

    Congrats – when I saw your tweet about him proposing (and you said yes), it made me smile. Just reminded me that Nathan and I were once there, not knowing exactly how we were gonna make it, but we made it =) and both of you will too! Take care. And congratulations again! Hugs!

    • December 23, 2011 4:50 pm

      to be honest, you and nathan are real inspirations for me to carry on and believing in LDR. Thanks, and i wish you best in your new journey in the states 🙂

  5. siangshian permalink
    January 7, 2012 1:15 pm

    Oo wow! Congrats! Happy for you!

  6. January 17, 2012 11:04 am

    Congrats to you Felicia.. What a simple yet sweet propasal you had~! I had fall in love with the sunrise ..how i wish i can visit there one day ..cheers! 🙂

    • February 1, 2012 7:22 pm

      thanks 🙂 there’s just something about sunrise right? and you should visit new zealand, its a land of pure beauty~

your two cents?

