Skip to content

In Need of Teacher Intervention! :P

January 9, 2012

One of my desires has always been to utilise my experience from MATES ( a mentoring programme by University of Auckland) in the local school I’m teaching at. But again and again, I found myself at a stumbling block, not knowing how to go on when my students could barely grasp the English language. Furthermore, there aren’t exactly universities near Gua Musang for me to alias with, to create a connection between tertiary young adults and my underexposed teenagers. Probably, the whole idea is madness itself and too ambitious for me as I lack a proper organizational support and we all know ‘no man is an island.’

So, I kinda swept this whole idea away and focused on my teaching for the whole of last year.

Then, I attended a MATES session in Manurewa Intermediate during my short visit to Auckland last holiday… and the fire was reignited.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Though I was kinda invited there to reunite with some old ‘colleagues’ of mine and also to observe the growth of MATES, I found myself being inspired once again as these uni students’ passion and enthusiasm were pretty contagious 😉

It got me back to thinking, why should I give up completely on any form of mentoring for my kids?

I had seen how mentoring works in lives of at-risk young kids, and I had experienced the importance of becoming an adult figure to the young one who had been craving parental attention.

While my kids on the other hand, come from really low socio-economic status (parents mainly labourers or rubber tappers) and they lack well-needed exposure to the world beyond their current lives. They too can benefit from any form of mentoring.

.

I do have my ideas and hopes. In fact, if I ever move over to New Zealand (God willing), this ‘idea’ of mine would be something that I want to carry on.

But as for now, I am taking things slow, one step at a time. I do have quite a lot on my hands at the moment and I don’t want to jump into any ‘grand’, ‘fancy-pancy’ initiatives and end up not finishing the race. I do though, want to start somewhere.

And this somewhere, refers to offering my students authentic letter-writing experiences through letters-exchanging with students from other states.

This would be a trial-run – getting students to apply English while making friends with someone out of their circles, getting exposure and knowledge from their new pen-pal, building a connection.

I really do want to see how this go, and hopefully we could expand to other bigger areas, such as involving teacher trainees or tertiary students.

.

So here comes the plea for help 😉

Thanks to Piqah, I may already have a potential partner to try out this letter-exchanging thing; but I still hope that more teachers out there would be interested to try this initiative with me. My students are mostly in Form 4 and 5 but they are really weak in English, as in really weak. However, they are really good kids with good learning attitude and I think they deserve such an experience.

So if you are interested to know more, or to be involved, please drop me a comment or email me at felicia_p7@yahoo.com 🙂

And to all teachers out there,

Let’s kick some ass in our schools 😉

5 Comments leave one →
  1. atie permalink
    January 9, 2012 11:13 pm

    omg felicia u know what, this week im teaching my kids informal letter n non of em had written to a penpal. only 2 had d experience of writing an actual letter. i told em i wud find em penpals so tht they wud write for real. lets try this. wat do u say

    soo excited coz d idea came tis morningn nw im getting d solution haaa

    • January 10, 2012 6:33 am

      its ok atie, the form they are in do not matter, its the effort to write to the other person and somewhat build a new connection that matters 🙂
      how many students you are thinking of getting involved and how is the proficiency level of your kids?
      i tell you what, we will plan further and i will email you more about the details yea 🙂

  2. atie permalink
    January 9, 2012 11:15 pm

    oh but mine r f1 n 2

  3. January 10, 2012 1:24 am

    hello! super random but i hopped onto ur blog from suet li’s 🙂 i think this is super inspiring having come from a really ulu kampung(kanowit -_-) too 😀 ahaha like i know i (and a lot of others) were really inspired to get ourselves somewhere because we had this letter-exchange system with students from this high school in melbourne. so knowing there was this whole world out there made a lot of ppl work harder so we could see all those places. haha corny but it worked 🙂

    • January 10, 2012 6:35 am

      Lol.. thanks Kei 🙂
      well, corny always make the world a better place and you seem to turn out pretty fine too 😉

your two cents?

