Skip to content

kids oh kids

May 20, 2012

for those who have been following me or acquainted with me, should know about the Writing With Purpose Project that I kick started.. oh well, after quite a few stumbles and hiccups, I am quite glad that its progressing 🙂 Some schools had been having smooth exchanges, some had to back out due to logistic reasons (eg letters were lost by the ‘ever-efficient’ Pos Malaysia), and some teachers got too busy with their duties and clerical work in school to follow through.

Anyway,my students LOVE writing to their pen pals, and even more when receiving the replies. So far they have been tip top in submitting their entries to me at my given due dates, and knowing how much weaker they are in English compared to their respondents, my students have been either doing drafts for me to go through, using the dictionary, and even consulting their bigger siblings for help.. I am actually very touched by their efforts :’)

.

and these letters are their first masterpieces

.

and imagine how excited they were when the replies came in!

.

.

Now this is when the drama starts. LOL

Everyone got their reply letters, except for this one girl. Coincidentally she was paired with a male student from the other school, and when she sent her letter, she even gave him a Winnie the Pooh file as a gift. So yea, you can say that she was extremely expectant to receive his letter or response.

And yes, she CRIED.

Personally it was not my desire to have them paired up with the opposite sex, due to you know, drama as such. But its hard to alias to such specific requirements because the number of students we have is so different, and I respect the other teacher’s decision when pairing her students with mine.

Well, I had to intervene. So I called up my dad, who actually helped me form this pairing and he went to investigate for me, because for one, my dad is a teacher who can’t bear with the lack of commitment from anyone at all.

That same afternoon, I received a phone call from my dad, and the story was just too funny.

Will just share the story in point form. LOL

1. The boy did receive her letter.

2. The boy did reply.

3. The boy’s girl friend found out that my student gave him a gift.

4. The boy’s girl friend got jealous and threatened him to not send the reply or she would want a break up.

5. The boy got scared and did not submit his letter.

.

.

So yea… Kids…

Anyway, my dad had a talk with the boy and his letter is now with my dad. To avoid further complications (we don’t want that girl friend to get murderous or whatnot), I will be giving my girl a new pairing.

.

There’s not a dull day in teaching 😉

For me, high school never ends LOL

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2012 1:55 am

    cinta anak anjing!

  2. May 20, 2012 9:23 pm

    Writing of this kind is more authentic & will make a deeper impact in their learning!
    Great initiative, Felish!

    • May 25, 2012 10:54 am

      Felish sounds like fetish.. shakes head in disapproval lol..

your two cents?

