Skip to content

Totally freaking out

June 30, 2012

A teacher’s job, is never limited to only teaching.

Its also about dealing with abrupt situations, back-stabbing from diva teachers, cleaning up the mess of thoughtless admin etc.

In my previous post, I mentioned about how we had to come out with an English dram with such short notice, for such an important event.. Well, the event has passed, it wasn’t our greatest shot due to the really bad PA system, but we were glad we made it through, as a team.

Right after the drama, we even took a lot of celebratory pictures lol. I love the energy from my kids 😉

.

.

.

.

.

.

SPOT ME! lol

.

So, after the event,

I was approached by the PPD and my PK Ko… They want my team to compete in the State Level Drama Competition! *GASP*

Doesn’t help that we only have around 1 week of preparation!

Even though I was briefly flattered before reality sinks in, I too realise that our script was definitely not state-level ready yet…

So that day itself, I had to redo the script.. and was also forced to cut down my team from 22 to 15 (as stated in the regulations) 😥

We had our first practice yesterday. It went alright, at least they all know the new flow of the story, and could jump into their characters immediately… BUT they still struggle with their lines… There’s so much to do!!! Getting the props done, buying stuff, training their pronunciation, getting the dances ready, pushing them to be more dramatic and animated, while at the same time having 3 tuition classes in school for this coming week!

I feel like I’m gonna explode. Doesn’t help that I’m doing all these alone 😥

I am freaking out.

Big time.

Then came a text message from Hazim (one of my drama kids) last night..

‘Teacher i have a suggestion. i think we must do a lot of practice to make our drama successful coz we dont have enough time. so we have to practice every day.. i also dont usual with new story n summer nite dance. i hope u can accept my suggestion”

.

I replied,

“u mean u r not used to the new drama? (well i had to be a teacher n correct the grammar k :P) we will practice everyday from Sunday”

.

He then replied,

“Ok teacher. Thanks. I will do my best fo this drama.”

.

.

and yes, these sleepless nights will be worth it.

I have no faith that we will be able to compete with the city kids.

But I am determine to give my kids a fighting chance.

Keep us in prayers, and wish us best.

Thanks 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Eva SS permalink
    June 30, 2012 5:48 pm

    Felicia, it sounds like it’s going to be a super duper busy week. Deep breaths, one step at a time k? Hugs for support all da way from Sarawak! You can do it ❤ ^_^

  2. Ine Mohammad permalink
    June 30, 2012 6:33 pm

    Aww you sounds like an awesome teacher Felicia! All the best! I’m sure you’ll pull through!

  3. June 30, 2012 7:52 pm

    i just kept telling my school to shove it whenever they ask me to run a drama team. good that you actually took up the challenge!

  4. June 30, 2012 11:22 pm

    Keep up the great job, Felish!
    All the best!

  5. July 5, 2012 1:55 pm

    good luck to you and your kids! ^^

your two cents?

