Skip to content

The truth hurts…

August 4, 2012

oh yeah, thanks to Adam and his album of tintin in the pdf format, I was quite entertained in this quiet weekend when most of my acquaintances were out of town.

Initially I was quite excited to just laze around, with my munchies, reading through the comics…but i had to admit, reading this so-called children’s book as an adult, had given me a whole new perspective on the comic itself. For starters, when I was young and constantly obsessed with Tintin, bugging my mum to take me to the library so that I could borrow each edition of it, I was thoroughly enjoying it. But reading back now, I found myself cringing in certain aspects…

For instance,
have a look at this Book 1 version (1930) – Tintin in the Land of the Soviets

.

Yup… Political agendas and portrayals were used explicitly through the comics.. something i would not have given a second thought to as a young reader in the past.

.

Now, this strip

YUP. TINTIN COULDN’T SHOOT DOWN A RHINO SO IT BLEW IT OFF USING EXPLOSIVES!

I was like… O. M. G
I doubt this type of storyline would go well with the many animal rights’ activists we have in this modern era.. That strip was taken from the second book, Tintin in Congo, and in that book Tintin is quite a hunter. Having killed a monkey and used the skin as a disguise, killed an elephant to have the tusks, killed 15 antelopes, killed two anacondas, and tortured a leopard….
hmmmmm…

Not to mentioned, the book also portrayed the africans to be really native, ‘not bright’, BLACK, and servants. I guess it was depicting the cultural situation at that time, but definitely the comic had been used for propoganda purposes.

Oh well,

At least after the 2nd book, Tintin had a major shift of role, and became more of an explorer. But that doesn’t mean stereotypes and subtle political messages were not evident throughout the comic series.

Not that I have a real problem with that.

Media has always been used for certain purposes since it had been invented.

I just felt really old, after reading the comics… which was not what I set out to experience.

Right now, i feel that a piece of my childhood had been shattered…

😥

Maybe I should just rewatch White Chicks.

h

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2012 9:43 pm

    I loved Tintin too! Only read the coloured comics. Never seen the B&W ones you shared here.
    You’re right about children not thinking too much about the political, animal cruelty, racism issues in comics. It’s subliminal messaging. Tintin says its like this so it is. Nazis & Chinese used comics to brainwash the population.
    We can do the same with our students. hehehehe~~

    • September 7, 2012 6:38 pm

      yea.. the coloured ones really do tone down in terms of the political propoganda.. but still get subtle stereotypes or ideas instilled.

your two cents?

